USD to EGP Converter & Egypt Remittance Guide
Convert USD to EGP at the live mid-market rate, and find the cheapest way to send money to Egypt. No signup, no account needed.
Get the live USD → EGP rate
Exchange rates move every minute, so this page won't quote a fixed number — open the converter above for the current mid-market USD/EGP rate. The mid-market rate is the "real" rate; what your recipient gets depends on the provider's margin and fees below. The EGP has been a free-floating currency since March 2024 (see below), so the USD/EGP rate can move noticeably week to week — check it again close to when you actually send.
Providers that serve this route
10 providers' own websites list United States of America → Egypt transfers (checked 2026-09-23). We don't rank them or quote their fees: prices change with amount, payment and payout method. Get each provider's quote, then compare what arrives.
| Provider | Recipient gets it via | Pay with | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| OFX | Bank deposit | Bank transfer | official page |
| Remitly | Bank deposit, Cash pickup, Mobile wallet | Bank transfer, Debit card, Credit card, Other | official page |
| Ria Money Transfer | Bank deposit, Cash pickup, Mobile wallet | Bank transfer, Debit card, Credit card, Cash, Apple/Google Pay, PayPal | official page |
| Sendwave | Not stated | Debit card | official page |
| Taptap Send | Bank deposit, Mobile wallet, Cash pickup | Debit card, In-app | official page |
| Western Union | Bank deposit, Cash pickup, Mobile wallet, Card | Bank transfer, Debit card, Credit card, Cash | official page |
| Wise | Bank deposit | Bank transfer, Debit card, Credit card, Apple/Google Pay, PayPal | official page |
| WorldRemit | Bank deposit, Cash pickup | Bank transfer, Debit card, Credit card | official page |
| Xe Money Transfer | Not stated | Bank transfer, Debit card, Credit card | official page |
| Xoom | Cash pickup, Bank deposit | Bank transfer, Debit card, Credit card, Apple/Google Pay, PayPal | official page |
Not offered on this route, per the provider's own site: Instarem, TransferGo.
Compare quotes on this route · Egypt money transfer guide · All providers
Always compare the total received in EGP, not the headline fee — a "zero fee" transfer can hide a poor exchange rate.
Why the EGP moves so much: the March 2024 float
Until March 2024, Egypt kept the pound on a managed peg that periodically ran out of dollars, leaving a parallel "black market" rate well above the official one. On 6 March 2024, following an unscheduled Monetary Policy Committee meeting, the Central Bank of Egypt (CBE) let the pound float, saying the exchange rate would be "determined by market forces" while the CBE kept targeting inflation as its policy anchor. On the same day the CBE raised all of its key overnight interest rates by 600 basis points — the deposit rate to 27.25%, the lending rate to 28.25% and the main operation rate to 27.75% — to support the currency and unify the exchange rate across the market. That's why a USD/EGP rate you saw a year ago can be very different from today's: it's a market rate now, not an administratively set one, so this page deliberately doesn't quote a fixed number and instead points you to the live converter above.
How the money actually arrives in Egypt
A USD transfer into Egypt typically lands through one of three rails. Banks remain the standard route for a direct account deposit and are what most of the providers below use. Egypt Post is a large parallel network — about 4,200 post offices plus roughly 2,000 ATMs — that runs savings accounts, prepaid cards and both domestic and international money remittances, useful for recipients outside big cities or without a bank account. For moving money once it's in Egypt, InstaPay is the CBE's free instant-payment app, launched in 2022, that lets people move funds in real time between bank accounts, Meeza cards and mobile wallets at any of Egypt's banks — it's a domestic settlement rail, not itself a way to receive dollars from the US. Some banks have started letting customers receive international transfers into InstaPay too; as of October 2024 the CBE's own transaction limits for the network are EGP 70,000 per transfer, EGP 120,000 per day and EGP 400,000 per month.
Remittances are near a record
Remittances from Egyptians working abroad are one of the country's largest sources of foreign currency, and they've grown sharply since the 2024 float removed the incentive to route money through informal channels at a better unofficial rate. The CBE reported $43.1 billion in remittances over the first 11 months of the 2025/26 fiscal year (July 2025–May 2026), up 31.2% on the same period a year earlier, with May 2026 alone bringing in $3.9 billion — a 13.5% year-on-year increase. The CBE has described these inflows as a "shock absorber" for the economy, helping offset the trade deficit and support foreign reserves.
Tips to get more EGP
- Compare the total EGP received for your exact amount, not just the fee.
- Watch the exchange-rate margin, not just the upfront fee — that's where most cost hides, especially now that EGP is a free-floating currency.
- First-transfer promos can win once — check the ongoing rate too.
- Send larger, less frequent transfers to spread fixed fees over more money.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the live USD to EGP rate today?
Rates change constantly — use the converter above for the current mid-market USD/EGP rate. The amount received depends on the provider's margin and fee on top of that rate.
What is the cheapest way to send USD to Egypt?
Get quotes from two or three providers and compare the total EGP received for your exact amount, since providers price differently by amount.
Why is my rate worse than Google's?
Google shows the mid-market rate. Providers add a margin and sometimes a fee, so your effective rate is slightly lower. Compare the final amount across two or three options.
How do I get the best USD–EGP rate?
Compare total received across a few providers, use first-transfer promos, focus on the margin not just the fee, and send larger amounts less often to dilute fixed costs.
When did Egypt move to a flexible exchange rate?
The Central Bank of Egypt floated the pound on 6 March 2024, letting market supply and demand set the EGP rate instead of a managed peg, and raised its key overnight interest rates by 600 basis points (to 27.25% deposit / 28.25% lending) the same day to support the move.
Can InstaPay receive money sent from the US?
InstaPay itself is the CBE's domestic instant-payment app for transfers between Egyptian banks, Meeza cards and mobile wallets. Some Egyptian banks have since added international receiving through InstaPay, but for a transfer that starts in the US you still send it via a licensed remittance provider, which usually deposits into a bank account, cash pickup point or mobile wallet in Egypt.
How much are Egyptians abroad sending home right now?
Remittances from Egyptians working abroad reached $43.1 billion in the first 11 months of the 2025/26 fiscal year (July 2025–May 2026), up 31.2% year-on-year, according to Central Bank of Egypt data released in July 2026.
Can Egypt Post receive an international money transfer?
Yes. Egypt Post's national network handles both domestic and international money remittances alongside savings accounts and prepaid cards, through its roughly 4,200 post offices, according to the Universal Postal Union.
Related calculators
Sources
- Central Bank of Egypt, "Special MPC Press Release," 6 March 2024 (accessed 24 September 2026)
- Egyptian Streets, "Egypt Devalues Currency, Introduces Flexible Exchange Rate," 6 March 2024 (accessed 24 September 2026)
- Central Bank of Egypt, "Remittances from Egyptians Working Abroad Record USD 43.1 Billion Over Eleven Months," 9 July 2026 (accessed 24 September 2026)
- Ahram Online, "Egypt's expat remittances surge 31.2% in first 11 months of FY25/26: CBE," 9 July 2026 (accessed 24 September 2026)
- Daily News Egypt, "CBE launches Instant Payment Network, its mobile app 'InstaPay'," 24 March 2022 (accessed 24 September 2026)
- The Paypers, "Central Bank of Egypt approves new InstaPay feature" (accessed 24 September 2026)
- Universal Postal Union, "Egypt Post continues to expand its financial services offering," November 2021 (accessed 24 September 2026)